Middle School English Language Arts

  • All grades at Endeavor Charter School follow the North Carolina Standard Course of Study (NCSCOS), which is a set of high-quality academic standards in English language arts/literacy (ELA). The standards focus on core concepts and procedures starting in the early grades, which gives teachers the time needed to teach them and gives students the time needed to master them. These learning goals outline what a student should know and be able to do at the end of each grade. The standards were created to ensure that all students graduate from high school with the skills and knowledge necessary to succeed in college, career, and life.

    The North Carolina Standards include goals in the following aspects of English Language Arts:

    • Reading Literature
    • Reading Informational Text
    • Writing
    • Speaking and Listening
    • Language

    Click on the link below for detailed information on each of the above topics and what is taught at each grade level:

    ELA Standards